REGULAR BOARD MEETING October 1, 2014 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on October 1, 2014 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Jake Richter, Coleen Guhl, Nadine Brown, Mandi Tollerud.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the agenda with the following addition: Set upcoming meeting dates

The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the service agreement with LCSC for technology services for 7/1/14 to 6/30/15. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena moved to set a special school board meeting on October 20th at 6:30 pm. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8	3:24 pm
Kathy Ouren, Chair	Charlie Blixt, Clerk

REGULAR BOARD MEETING October 13, 2014 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on October 13, 2014 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Stephanie Winjum, Barb Ripley, Paul Restad, Dave Johnson, Patty Johnson, Peter Waller, Sheri O'Brien, Nadine Brown, Mandy Tollerud, Lou Hoglund, Coleen Guhl, Alex Okke.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Information about the Minnesota State High School Clay Target League was presented. Dena Johnson moved to approve participation in the clay target league with the fee structure to be determined and reported to the school board at the next meeting. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Information was presented about the World's Best Work Force.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda as follows:

Approve board minutes of the regular meeting on September 3 and September 14, 2014 Approve payment of the 9/30 and October bills as presented

Accept donations: Park Region Co-op - \$75-Homecoming tailgating

Bell State Bank Pay it Forward Program-Shawn Haugrud, Van &

Ruth Holmgren-\$500 Elementary Phy. Ed.

Cormorant Lutheran Church - \$500-Elementary Milk Breaks Bell State Bank - \$100-St. Council-Homecoming tailgating

Personnel: Hire Dr. Ed Richardson as Assistant Boys Basketball coach

Increase Rachel Haugrud from .5 ESL teacher to 1.0 ESL teacher

Approve the Head Start agreement for 2014-15

Approve the agreement with LCSC for a Technology Integrationist for 2014-15 Approve the following land changes:

Andy Rarick From BA to BA+30
Coleen Guhl From BA to BA+30
Sherri Larson From BA to BA+30
Todd Kuhn From BA to BA+30
Heidi Isaman From BA to BA+30
Angie Westby From BA to BA+30
Dana SyversonFrom BA+30 to BA+45

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with Charlie Blixt voting no on the personnel items.

Jon Karger moved to approve the Assurance of Compliance with State and Federal law Prohibiting Discrimination. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the final 2013-14 audit report as presented at the September school board meeting. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to change the regular school board meeting from 11/5 to 11/10 and the 11/17 meeting to 11/24 and to set 11/10 as the day to canvass election results. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie moved to approve the following resolution:

Nomination Petition for Lakes Country Service Cooperative Board

Be it hereby resolved that:

The Board of Pelican Rapids Schools nominates Dena Johnson to serve as a board of directors nominee of the Lakes Country Service Cooperative and authorizes this individual's name to be placed on the ballot to be submitted to LCSC voting members.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing Resolution was duly seconded by Mitch Monson and upon vote being taken thereon the following voted in favor thereof:

Karger, Blixt, Monson, Ouren, Forsgren

and the following voted against the same:

None

with Dena Johnson abstaining from the vote. whereupon said Resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Mitch Monson moved to approve the Letter of Assurance for Principal Development and Evaluation. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the first reading of Policy #514 Bullying Prohibition Policy. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Mitch Monson moved to approve the change of date for the October 20th special board meeting to October 27th to accommodate approval of Phase III bids. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:48 pm.

Cathy Ouren, Chair	Charlie Blixt, Clerk	