## REGULAR BOARD MEETING November 10, 2014 Unapproved

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on November 10, 2014 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Derrick Nelson, Coleen Guhl, Cary Haugrud, Kim Haugrud, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Charlie Blixt introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION TO REJECT BIDS FOR PELICAN RAPIDS SECONDARY SCHOOL RENOVATION PHASE 3 BID ON OCTOBER 21, 2014

WHEREAS, Independent School District No. 548 (Pelican Rapids Public Schools) has previously approved for the solicitation of sealed bids for the above-referenced project to complete necessary renovations at the existing Pelican Rapids Secondary School facility.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the District School Board rejects all bids received for:

Single Prime

The motion for adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Board Member Dena Johnson and upon vote being taken thereon,

The following members voted in favor thereof:

Ouren, Karger, Blixt, Forsgren, Monson, Johnson

And the following members voted against the same:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Mitch Monson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS
OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 4, 2014, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of \_\_\_\_\_\_ voters of the district voted at said election on the election of three school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Charlie Blixt 1698
Dena Johnson 1649
Kathryn Ouren 1908
Write-ins 60

- 3. Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, and Kathryn Ouren, having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2014.
- 4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion for adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Board Member Mike Forsgren and upon vote being taken thereon,

The following members voted in favor thereof:

Ouren, Karger, Blixt, Forsgren, Monson, Johnson

And the following members voted against the same:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Kathy Ouren introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION AND DIRECTING SCHOOL DISTRICT CLERK TO PERFORM OTHER ELECTION RELATED DUTIES

WHEREAS, the board has canvassed the general election for school board members held on November 4, 2014.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, State of Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. The chair and clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board of Independent School District No.548 to the following candidates:
- a. Charlie Blixt
- b. Dena Johnson
- c. Kathryn Ouren

who have received a sufficiently large number of votes to be elected to fill vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the election, based on the results of the canvass.

- 2. The certificate of election shall be in substantially the form attached hereto
- 3. After the time for contesting the election has passed and the candidate has filed all campaign financial reports required by Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 211A, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail.
- 4. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificate a form of acceptance of office and oath of office in substantially the form attached hereto.

The motion for adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Board Member Charlie Blixt and upon vote being taken thereon,

The following members voted in favor thereof:

Ouren, Karger, Blixt, Forsgren, Monson, Johnson

And the following members voted against the same:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m.	
Kathy Ouren, Chair	Charlie Blixt, Clerk

## REGULAR BOARD MEETING November 24, 2014

## Unapproved

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on November 24, 2014 in the media center at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Stephanie Winjum, Barb Ripley, Brent Frazier, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with the following changes:

Remove item A from business items. Approve a motion to rescind the \$300 converted levy previously approved.

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular meetings on October 1 and October 13, 2014

Approve payment of the October 31<sup>st</sup> and November bills as presented

Accept donation: Anonymous to scholarships in memory of Jim Ouren-\$15

Approve a Memorandum of Agreement with University of Minnesota-Crookston for CIHS classes offered Spring 2015

Approve lane change omitted on October agenda:

Tonya Johnson BA+15 to BA+30

Approve a Right of Way Easement for New Line on Property for an underground distribution line with Otter Tail Power

Personnel:

Hire Amy Korf and Shari VerDorn as co SADD advisors

Hire Maria Soto as the parent liaison at the elementary school

Hire Kim Hernandez as the parent liaison at the high school

The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the revised ADM's for the 2014-15 budget revision at 868. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the 2<sup>nd</sup> reading of the Anti-Bullying Policy 514. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to change the February regular board meeting from February 16<sup>th</sup> to February 23<sup>rd</sup> at 6:30 pm because of Presidents' Day. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:32 pm		
Kathy Ouren, Chair	Charlie Blixt, Clerk	