REGULAR BOARD MEETING March 24, 2014 Unapproved

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on March 24, 2014 in the boardroom at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Jon Karger, Mitch Monson, Dena Johnson, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Stephanie Winjum, Barb Ripley, Brian Korf, Sheila Flatau, Derrick Nelson, Jake Richter, Connie Mackner, Jeff Peter, Paul Restad, Sheri O'Brien, Todd Kuhn, Ryan Syverson, Lou Hoglund, and Alex Okke.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Mitch Monson moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Ryan Syverson, Sheri O'Brien, and Todd Kuhn presented information assembled by the Class Size Committee.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular February 12th and 24th meetings Approve payment of the 2/28 and March bills as presented. Approve donations:

To SADD-Woessner Properties - \$25

For Legionville camp-Knights of Columbus - \$250

For Legionville camp-American Legion Aux. - \$250

For Legionville camp-American Legion - \$250

To ISD 548-Carol Treinen/Wells Fargo - \$12

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Angie Westby as Asst. Girls Golf coach

Hire Connie Evenson as Asst. Girls Golf coach

Hire Nadine Brown as a temporary part-time teacher

Hire Deb Bruns as a temporary special ed para

Approve lane changes for:

Blaine Ristvedt MA to MA+15 Tonya Johnson BA to BA+15

Acknowledge that Food Services of America has been awarded the contract for distribution of commodities through Lakes Country Service Cooperative.

The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved that the ADMs to be used for the final FY14 revenue budget is 903. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved that the ADMs to be used for the preliminary FY15 revenue budget is 896. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the 2013-15 Master Agreement with the Pelican Rapids Education Association. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2013-14 and 2014-15 non-certified salary schedules. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

The following reports were presented:

Elementary Principal – Sheila Flatau
High School Principal – Brian Korf
Activities Director/Asst. Principal – Derrick Nelson
21st Century Grant Director – Jake Richter
Business Manager – Steph Winjum
Superintendent – Deb Wanek

The meeting was adjourned.	
Kathy Ouren, Chair	Charlie Blixt, Clerk