REGULAR BOARD MEETING January 7, 2015

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on January 7, 2015 in the media center at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Deb Evenson, Andy Rarick and Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kathy Ouren.

Nominations were opened for board chair.

Dena Johnson nominated Jon Karger for board chair. Jon Karger was the only candidate nominated for the office of chair, and Kathy Ouren hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for board vice chair.

Mike Forsgren nominated Charlie Blixt for board chair. Charlie Blixt was the only candidate nominated for the office of vice chair, and Jon Karger hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for board clerk.

Mitch Monson nominated Dena Johnson. Dena Johnson was the only candidate nominated for the office of board clerk, and Jon Karger hereby declared her elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for board treasurer.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 pm

Dena Johnson nominated Mitch Monson. Mitch Monson was the only candidate nominated for the office of board treasurer, and Jon Karger hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed to acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Jon Karger, Chair	Dena Johnson, Clerk	

REGULAR BOARD MEETING January 21, 2015

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on January 21, 2015 in the media center at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt and Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Jake Richter, Steph Winjum, Barb Ripley, Deb Evenson, and Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular December 3 & 15, 2014 meetings

Approve payment of the December 31st and January bills

Approve donations:

To SADD-Southtown \$50

To SADD-Wells Fargo \$100

To SADD-Woessner Ins \$25

Scholarships in memory of LeRoy Glaesman-Anonymous \$25, Glenn & Colleen Moerke \$10

Scholarships in memory of Jim Ouren-Faye & Al Siegle, \$10, Glenn & Colleen Moerke \$10

Hats & Mittens for Elem-Zion Lutheran Church \$180

To Dance Team-Gary & Kris Dillon \$150

To Scholarships-DSG/Allen Ripley \$250

Hire Nadine Brown as Asst Speech coach

The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the 2015 Seniority List as presented. The motion was seconded and carried.

Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION DIRECTING THE ADMINISTRATION
TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REDUCTIONS
IN PROGRAMS AND POSITIONS AND REASONS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, the financial condition of the school district dictates that the school board must reduce expenditures immediately, and

WHEREAS, there has been a reduction in student enrollment and,

WHEREAS, the reduction in expenditure and decrease in student enrollment must include discontinuance of positions and discontinuance or curtailment of program, and

WHEREAS, a determination must be made as to which teachers' contracts must be terminated and not renewed and which teachers may be placed on unrequested leave of absence without pay or fringe benefits in effecting discontinuance of positions,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. #548 as follows:

That the School Board hereby directs the Superintendent of Schools and administration to consider the discontinuance of programs or positions to effectuate economies in the school district and reduce expenditures and as a result of reduction in enrollment, make recommendations to the school board for the discontinuance of programs, curtailment of programs, discontinuance of positions or curtailment of positions.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Mitch Monson And upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof:

Blixt, Karger, Johnson, Monson, Forsgren

And the following voted against the same:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Charlie Blixt moved to set February 12, 2015 at 3:00 pm to open bids for Phase III of the renovation project. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to rescind the Resolution Converting Voter Approved Referendum Authority To A Board Approved Referendum Authority which was approved in January of 2014. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the 2nd reading of the Wellness Policy. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve a change to the 2014-15 Master Calendar which will change an elementary workshop from January 19th to February 9th to accommodate the end of the trimester. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Jon Karger, Chair	Dena Johnson, Clerk